Wednesday, November 30, 2011

My exchange with 2012 GOP Presidential Candidate/Former Lousiana Gov. Buddy Roemer

As seen on the Rachel Maddow Show -

Part I: Occupy Wall Street, @ Zucotti Park - October 11, 2011

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26315908/#44868447

Part II: Our conversation continued....

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/26315908/#45471259

I support Occupy Wall Street! I am part of the 99%. You can evict the protesters, but you can't evict an idea who's time has come.

Gov. Roemer seems like a nice enough guy. I'd have a beer with him. He is right, we DO agree on the need to take money out of our political process. The interest of the 99% are no longer being represented by those in Washington. My problem with him lies in his assertion that he's a "different" kind of Republican. In reality, he is not. Besides money in politics, he STILL supports the same old intrusive, oppressive Republican policies. He never wants to talk about that, or even acknowledge it.

The beginning

Well..I've decided it's time to post my inaugural blog. At first I was unsure what to say. I sat for a moment, and came to the decision to just talk about what's on my mind. Politically speaking of course.

This morning I was having an exchange with a friend on facebook. A guy from my hometown. We graduated High School together. This particular guy loathes President Obama, and refers to him as the "annointed one". That term used to characterize the President is so funny. The right, use the term as if it's a punch to the gut. Seriously, who cares if they want to call President Obama the "annointed one"? More importantly, why does he think it's use, will hurt me?

Pat, my hometown friend, also kept referring to Obama as "your" president. In response.. I said, "he's YOUR President as well." I'm not exactly sure what I thought Pat's response would be. Possibly, you're right we are all Americans or I respect the office of the Presidency. However, much to my dismay..Pat's response wasn't at all what I had expected. He said, "I refuse to have a Muslim as my president".  


My first thought was, WTF did he just say? Did we just step back into 2008? In 2011 do people STILL think President Obama is a Muslim? It was bad enough to think such a thing in 2008, but to STILL think it...in 2011? How does it happen? How is it possible? Ignorance is so unattractive. 


Now...on to my second thought. Let's just say for the sake of humor...President Obama IS a Muslim. So, what??? This is America. Are people so prejudice that it would be unacceptable or unthinkable for a Muslim to be President of the United States? This goes back to the assertion of Islamophobia existing since 9/11. Not all Muslims are bad. Not all Muslims are terrorists. Islam is not our enemy. Every single religion has extremists. How quickly we forget the Crusades or even the last bombing of an abortion clinic!