Lately there has been so much discussion about Religious freedom, contraception, and abortion. I've decided that it's time for me to speak up. I figured it's best to express myself in this forum. I want to be very honest here. This entire discussion is driving me crazy! Why are we STILL, today, in 2012 having a debate about women's health? How did women's health become a partisan political issue?
Let me start by talking about the provision in the Affordable Health Care Act that requires religious institutions to provide free contraception to it's employees. I have listened to many constitutional law scholars speak about this issue. I am in agreement with the ones I've heard. This provision does not violate the 1st amendment. This is NOT a constitutional issue. Requiring religious affiliated organizations to pay for the contraception of it's female employees is a LABOR LAW issue.
From what I see it's a matter of the Catholic church being required, like every other employer to follow labor law. Religious exemptions already exist in this legislation. Just like employers are required to provide workman's comp, they are required to provide free contraception to women who choose to take it. This same policy is already happening in 28 states across the country. DePaul University, the nations largest Catholic University provides for free contraception to it's employees.
http://thinkprogress.org/health/2012/02/08/421242/nations-largest-catholic-university-we-offer-a-prescription-contraceptive-benefit
http://thinkprogress.org/health/2012/02/08/421242/nations-largest-catholic-university-we-offer-a-prescription-contraceptive-benefit
My point is that these types of policies have already been in existence for many years. Where was the outcry? Where were those politicians, who are now ready to fight the "WAR ON RELIGION"? Where was Rick Santorum? Where was Mitt Romney? I would say where was John Boehner, but we all know he was somewhere on a bar stool. Based on the constitution, there is no violation of religious liberty. Get a grip! The power of suggestion is an amazing thing.
I also have to admit, I'm sick and tired of watching MEN sitting around debating women's health issues. Do you see women sitting around debating whether other women should have access to specific health services? I'm tired of listening to MEN debating a women's right to choose. That is such a deeply personal and private decision. I think it's so incredibly fucked up to listen to MEN making the decisions about what a women should do after suffering rape or incest. I'm tired of it. Why do men THINK they have any say or decision in what a women does with her body? The ONLY time it's appropriate for a man to take part in such an intimate discussion, is when he's the one who didn't pull out quick enough. Otherwise, shut the fuck up about a women's right to choose.
Stop politicizing women's health. Polls show that Americans support the use of contraception overwhelmingly. The lesson that MEN seem to never learn is that women have a voice. If they continue to believe that women will accept MEN restricting access to health services, contraception, and denying a women's right to choose, they are seriously playing themselves. Women are the largest voting block. It's women who vote in larger numbers than anyone. So far men have attempted to take away cervical cancer screening, breast cancer screening, and now contraception. Rick Santorum even wants to outlaw contraception. What the hell is HE smoking? It will never happen.
In my opinion, this ISN'T a war on religion, it's an all out assault on women!